Leaving social media

There’s something to be said for the fact of having an immediate, and responsive audience to creative output which compels one to produce and provides that nice sounding board to observation. Since leaving social media my output has plummeted. Facebook was my main venue and my content production there was endless and prolific. There was certainly a lot of “ore” in my postings though from time to time I found a “nugget” worth collecting and keeping in my private journal. There’s something to be said for that process which seems to be enlivened and enriched by the fact of audience. My private musings are certainly free of *most* self-imposed censorship though also these are less frequent or interesting. I guess in a sense I’m driven by the fact of consumption though I don’t prefer to interact much with those who are doing the consuming. It’s a rather selfish way to be though frankly I don’t give a damn about what others think of what I think. For the most part I don’t even care about their opinions unless what they are bringing to the table is objective proof that I am wrong. That, I am very interested in. But most of the time the feedback I receive is that nonsense human comfort and reinforcement which does nothing to further the cause and only makes us all feel a little better sitting around the campfire at night while the beast growl and prowl nearby in the dark. The only feedback I really care about is when someone grabs a stick from the fire and invites me to do the same and walk boldly with them into the dark to meet the beasts. There’s sadly so little of that on social media or anywhere. Frankly, I’m scared of the dark too. Though with my time nearly up I’d rather step away from social media to spend my evenings and weekends with my people, making something worthwhile in human terms, while struggling to muster the courage to walk into the dark with or without a torch.

The other reason I’ve withdrawn from social media is because I’ve already lost almost an entire year with my daughter and I don’t want any unnecessary distractions when she gets here. Already since leaving Facebook I’ve interacted more often and better with her than anytime in the last year. I guess I needed a year to wean myself from social media and back on to family. In a way, I’m grateful for this year apart for that very fact as I hope to be a better man to the people in my life as a result.

One thought on “Leaving social media

  1. Laura Ours

    Have you left Facebook then? If that is the case, you will be missed there, but I wish all the best for you and your family! Huggles from Laura Ours

    Reply

Leave a Reply

