A day with my daughter

A day alone with one’s teen is a treasure one can neither possess nor repeat with surety, and only remember and appreciate should fortune allow an encore performance. Emily and I began our motorcycle adventure with a nice outdoor lunch at the beach, where she tutored me on the challenge of fitting the Japanese culture of cute (kawaii) into an American culture which typically outgrows such things before high school.

My daughter is becoming comfortable on the bike, and I could sense her ease as we enjoyed a view of the deserted winter shore while motoring up the coast from Newport to Long Beach. The empty parking lots, deserted fire pits and rows of volleyball nets silently awaiting the crowds of summer. The grey sea, choppy with a light on-shore breeze. Not at all inviting.

We drove by the hospital where I was born, which I pointed out to her. She asked me about oil rigs which she thought were a sort of amusement park ride. We visited a World War Two memorial for lost submarines. And Emily learned to wave at other motorcycles as they passed on the other side of the road.

A last minute right turn onto The Path of Wildness led us somewhere we hadn’t planned, and we wound up sitting together on a dirty curb beside the bike in the parking lot of a Starbucks, sipping coffee while I answered Emily’s questions about the complex technology of the dirty and road-worn German marvel which loomed above us. She had no idea how brakes worked, or the mechanism of hydraulics, or why my bike is always so darn dirty.

Sitting on the ground next to motorcycles is something that happens when you become a rider. Especially when you ride long distances, are weary and coated with the road. You go inside and buy a coffee. And then come out and sit down near the bike. I’ve done it often, alone and with companions. And now I’ve done it with my kid. A rite of passage in fact. Though I know she has no idea.

The sky began to drop rain as we finished our coffee. Nice timing as we hurriedly put on our waterproof gear and got back on our powerful steed. Though prudence recommended we return home direct, I opted instead for the long way back. A little more time with my daughter. Making the moments stretch. Having her to myself just a bit more before childhood winks out and is gone for good.

Leave a Reply

