The Good Life – 170328 HOS v.17.0

The Good Life Meditation for March 27th, 2017

My mind is haunted this week with a little work-related anxiety. Mainly, I’ve been thinking over what I would do should I lose my job. That’s a bit of a curious thing to worry over given my job is fairly secure. However, as a family man, and the primary bread-winner, it’s a real concern. I’ve taken some action to address these concerns. Namely, I’ve done the following:

  • NEW RESUMES
    Update my resume in readiness for a job search. I’ve actually got two resumes ready to go. The first is my full resume which I will use to search for a project manager or analyst position. The second resume is a more simplified one which I can use to look for part-time work as a second job or as a last resort if the full time effort doesn’t yield a position quickly enough.
  • DRIVING SCHOOL LICENSE
    Now that I have my license as a driving instructor I should be able to more easily secure a fairly good-paying job teaching driving. This is another nice option should it become necessary to go this route.
  • FALL BACK PLAN
    If I were to lose my job and things got really bad, I mean REALLY bad, then I can always fall back to our life in Japan. I can send my wife back first to set up house in our old community of Shizuoka. I know we can get an apartment with Leo Palace (rental place) as this is how we got started in Japan last time. While my wife and daughter go back to Japan to jump start our new lives there (kinda the reverse of what we did coming to the USA) I will stay in the USA to continue my job search and liquidate our lives. In the end, I’ll go back to Japan as well where I will find a job teaching English, my wife will work, and our daughter will finish high school. My wife and I will then find a nice little house to rent or buy and we will settle in for the long-haul. Eventually, I’ll get both USA social security and Japan social security which will keep us going in our old age. One nice benefit of this is the outstanding health care system in Japan which will take care of us in our old age. Since our daughter is already a native Japanese she will fit in fine. If I can make it another two years at my current job then I will qualify for a pension which will really help. Actually, this is a pretty good plan. Writing this out was a big help.

Click here to read more about the objectives and principals listed below

Affirmation of Human and Civil Rights

Individuals have rights which must not be neglected while pursuing the good of the many.

Five Objectives

  1. The Development and Maintenance of Good Life Principals
  2. The Cultivation of Good Emotional Reactions
  3. The Performance of Good Actions
  4. Recognition of My Scope of Control
  5. Recognition of Opportunity

Twenty Principals

  1. War
  2. Reason (Honesty & Objectivity)
  3. Homunculus
  4. The Home of Good and Evil
  5. Purpose (Biology & Virtue)
  6. Atomic Principal
  7. Principal of Nature
  8. Maturity (Wisdom & Fortitude)
  9. Social Principal
  10. The Feast of Offal
  11. Temperance (Suffering, Simplicity & Apathy)
  12. Agency & The Great Indifference
  13. The Best Seat in the House
  14. The Path of Wildness
  15. The Risk of Avoiding Risk
  16. Sin & Damnation (Falsity, Credulity, Faith, Superstition & Dogma)
  17. Complete Oblivion (no final Reunion, Reconciliation or Justice)
  18. The Great Life Adventure
  19. The Season of Philosophy
  20. Arena & Utility

Today’s Thought and Action Plan

Deliberate thinking and mastery over my emotions.. Observation of the thoughts which appear and rise within my head. Honest and objective reflection over the true scope of my control. Good assessment of the impact of my decisions and the consequences they may entail. Effective use of my time despite how I may feel. Utilization of every opportunity, pain, chance, moment of good or bad, for the improvement of the world through my own disciplined self-control towards the aims for virtue.

Learn more about my personal philosophy The Good Life

Visit my main YouTube channel

Find me elsewhere

Send me a message


Leave a Reply

